Petition Signatories



No fewer than 669,444 people signed the following declaration:

“I support the legal definition of marriage which is the voluntary union for life of one man and one woman to the exclusion of all others. I oppose any attempt to redefine it.”

Signatories included:

Lord Carey of Clifton, former Archbishop
Lord Mackay of Clashfern, former Lord Chancellor
Baroness O’Cathain OBE, Conservative
Lord Waddington, former Home Secretary
Fiona Bruce MP, Conservative
David Burrowes MP, Conservative
Jim Dobbin MP, Labour
Joe Benton MP, Labour
Mary Glindon MP, Labour
Rt Hon Ann Widdecombe
Edward Leigh MP, Conservative
Lord Curry of Kirkharle, Crossbench
David Nuttall MP, Conservative
Stewart Jackson MP, Conservative
Bob Blackman MP, Conservative
Nigel Dodds MP, DUP
Rt Hon Jeffrey Donaldson MP, DUP
Sammy Wilson MP MLA, DUP
David Simpson MP, DUP
Jim Shannon MP, DUP
Ian Paisley MP, DUP
Gregory Campbell MP, DUP
Dr William McCrea MP, DUP
Sir Roger Gale MP, Conservative
Julian Brazier TD MP, Conservative
Peter Bone MP and Mrs Jennie Bone, Conservative
Jeremy Lefroy MP, Conservative
Craig Whittaker MP, Conservative
Richard Drax MP, Conservative
Robert Alexander Stewart MP, Conservative
Paul Maynard MP, Conservative
Geoffrey Cox MP QC, Conservative
Andrew Bridgen MP, Conservative
Brian Binley MP, Conservative
Robert Halfon MP, Conservative
Andrew Rosindell MP, Conservative
Andrew Selous MP, Conservative
Lord Brennan QC, Labour
Rt Hon Lord Anderson of Swansea, Labour
Lord Stoddart of Swindon, Independent Labour Peer
Lord Singh of Wimbledon (Director Network of Sikh Organisations)
Lord Maginnis of Drumglass, Independent
Lord Tombs, Crossbench
Earl of Shrewsbury & Talbot, Conservative
Lord Vinson, Conservative
Baroness Seccombe, Conservative
Admiral Sir William O’Brien
Rear Admiral Sir John Garnier, KCVO, CBE
Brigadier W I C Dobbie
Brigadier Charles Hince CBE
Lady Elizabeth Shakerley
Lord Grantley
Lady Howard de Walden
Lord Fairhaven
Countess Carolyn de Salis
Prof. Sir Denis Pereira Gray, Exeter
Prof. Brenda Almond, President of the Philosophical Society of England
Prof. Kenneth Walters, Aberystwyth
Prof. David Paton, Nottingham
Prof. Roger Trigg, Oxford
Prof. John Turner, Belfast
Prof. David Watts, Manchester
Prof. Clive Osmond, Southampton
Prof. Mel Richardson, Portsmouth
Prof. R. Ivan Lewis, Newcastle
Prof. Andrew Tomkins, London
Rt Revd Peter Forster, Bishop of Chester
Rt Revd Anthony Priddis, Bishop of Hereford
Rt Revd Michael Langrish, Bishop of Exeter
Rt Revd James Newcome, Bishop of Carlisle
Rt Revd Christopher Cocksworth, Bishop of Coventry
Rt Revd Donald Allister, Bishop of Peterborough
Rt Revd Paul Butler, Bishop of Southwell and Nottingham
Rt Revd Timothy Dakin, Bishop of Winchester
Rt Revd Jonathan Gledhill, Bishop of Lichfield
Rt Revd Nicholas Reade, Bishop of Blackburn (2004-2012)
Rt Revd Dr John Hind, Bishop of Chichester (2001-2012)
Rt Revd Michael Scott-Joynt, Bishop of Winchester (1992-2011)
Rt Revd Dr Michael Nazir-Ali, Bishop of Rochester (1994-2009)
Dr Philip Giddings
Nicky and Sila Lee, founders of ‘The Marriage Course’
James Bogle, Chairman of the Catholic Union
Bishop Seamus Cunningham, Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle
The Very Revd Leo Chamberlain OSB, MA, former Headmaster, Ampleforth
Revd Hugh Palmer, Rector of All Souls Langham Place, London
Revd William Taylor, Rector of St Helen’s Bishopsgate, London
Revd Martin Turner, Methodist Central Hall, London
Colin Hart, Director, The Christian Institute
Steve Clifford, General Director, Evangelical Alliance
Dr David Landrum, Director of Advocacy, Evangelical Alliance
Dr Don Horrocks, Head of Public Affairs, Evangelical Alliance
Revd Lyndon Bowring, Executive Chairman, CARE
Nola Leach, Chief Executive, CARE
Andrea Minichiello Williams, Co-Founder, Christian Concern and member of the General Synod of the Church of England
Ade Omooba, Co-Founder, Christian Concern
Arthur Cornell, Chairman, Family Education Trust
Norman Wells, Director, Family Education Trust
Pastor Emmanuel Mbakwe, Leader of the Apostolic Church UK
Canon Dr Chris Sugden, Executive Secretary, Anglican Mainstream
John Stevens, Director, Fellowship of Independent Evangelical Churches (FIEC)
Revd Brian H. Edwards, author and former President of the FIEC
Harmander Singh, Principal Advisor, Sikhs In England
Pastor Dipo Oluyomi, Kingsway International Christian Centre
Canon Paschal Ryan, Episcopal Vicar, Roman Catholic Diocese of Westminster
Canon Pat Browne, Holy Apostles Roman Catholic Church, Pimlico
Dr Tony Cole, Vice Chairman, Catholic Union
Dr Peter Saunders, Chief Executive, Christian Medical Fellowship
Mark Barrell, Director of the Lawyers’ Christian Fellowship
Simon Ling, Secretary and Hon Treasurer, Family Education Trust
Revd Yemi Adedeji, Jesus House
Pastor Kola Bamigbade, Senior Pastor of Inspirational House
Gerald Coates, Founder of Pioneer
John Partington, National Leader, Assemblies of God
Alan Craig, Leader of the Christian People’s Alliance
Alison Ruoff, General Synod of the Church of England
John Cook, General Synod of the Church of England
Sarah Finch, General Synod of the Church of England
Neil Addison, Director, Thomas More Legal Centre
Revd Jonathan Fletcher, Vicar of Emmanuel Church, Wimbledon
Revd Greg Haslam, Senior Pastor, Westminster Chapel
Roger Forster, Ichthus Christian Fellowship
Revd Angus MacLeay, Vicar of St Nicholas, Sevenoaks
Revd Charles Marnham, Vicar of St Michael’s, Chester Square
Revd Paul Perkin, Vicar of St Mark’s, Battersea Rise
Revd Paul Williams, Vicar of Christ Church, Fulwood, Sheffield
Revd Robert Strivens, Principal of London Theological Seminary
Andrew Symonds, Chairman, Pilgrims’ Friend Society
John and Regula Fransham, Bruderhof UK
Pastor Biyi Ajala
Dr Joe Aldred
Pastor Chuks Anierobi
Rod Badams
Pastor Kofi Banful
Stuart Bell
Guy Brandon
Wesley Richard Erpen, Birmingham City Mission
Christen Forster, Revival Alliance
Ian Nundy, Lead Pastor, New Horizons Church
Clive Harding, Pastor, International Harvest Church
Pastor Wes Richards Jnr, King’s Church International
Ralph Turner, KingsGate Community Church
Ian Fry, Pastor, Fetcham Community Church
Revd David Harding, Minister of Milnrow Evangelical Church
Revd Nigel Harrison, Pastor, Thurlaston Road Chapel
Revd Colin Jones, Pastor, Three Bridges Free Church
Revd Mark Lawrence, Senior Pastor, West Street Baptist Church
Colin Tamplin, Pastor, Monyhull Church
Revd Nigel Atkinson, Vicar of St John’s, Knutsford
Revd Dr Mark Burkill, Vicar of Christ Church, Leyton
Revd Stephen Coe, Vicar of Holy Trinity, Wallington
Revd Phil Coekin, Vicar of Holy Trinity, Eastbourne
Revd David Holloway, Vicar of Jesmond Parish Church
Revd George Curry, Vicar of Elswick Parish Church
Revd Charles Raven, Rector of Christ Church, Wyre Forest
Revd Mike Smith, St John’s Church, Hartford
Revd Giles Walter, Vicar of St John’s, Tunbridge Wells
Revd Ian Garrett
Revd Celia Collins
Trevor Archer
Trevor Condy
Paul Conrathe
Tim Dieppe
Mary Douglas
Peter Duckworth
Robert Edwards
Pastor Omawumi Efueye
Tom Ellis
Dr Sola Fola-Alade
Nick Grant
Sam Harding
Tony Horswood
Dr Mark Houghton
Alastair Kirk
Tim Lawson-Cruttenden
Monica McCormack
Nick McQuaker
Patricia Morgan
Mark Mullins
Dr Lisa Nolland
Geoff Norridge
Brian O’Donoghue
Pastor Lola Oyebade
Phil Quenby
Dr Chris Richards
John Scriven
Pastor Lanre Sholola
Dr Trevor Stammers
Diane Taylor
Philippa Taylor
Pastor Denis Wade
Pastor Terry Walters
Christopher Whitmey
Alfred Williams